Abbott Issues Disaster Declaration For 32 Counties Because Of Hurricane Hanna

Debris floats around damaged boats in a marina after it was hit by Hurricane Hanna, Sunday, July 26, 2020, in Corpus Christi,Texas. About 30 boats were lost or damaged in the storm at the marina. (AP Photo/Eric Gay)

(Austin, TX) — Governor Greg Abbott is declaring 32 Texas counties disaster areas because of Hurricane Hanna. The declaration includes Harris, Fort Bend, Brazoria, and Galveston Counties.

Hanna made landfall on Padre Island on Saturday as a Category One hurricane with winds of over 90 miles-an-hour. Forecasters downgraded Hanna to a tropical storm early Sunday morning as it moved further inland over southern Texas.

The storm continues to be a heavy rainmaker. Abbott announced Sunday that FEMA has approved the disaster declaration.

Federal Emergency Declaration Approved For Valley Counties Due To Damage From Hurricane Hanna

Previous article

Belgium Implements Drastic Plan To Avoid Another Lockdown

Next article

You may also like

More in TEXAS