4 Valley Reps Awarded Committee Chairmanships Or Vice-Chairmanships By New House Speaker


Two Rio Grande Valley representatives have been awarded committee chairmanships by new House Speaker Dade Phelan who revealed his committee assignments Thursday.

Edinburg Representative Terry Canales retained the chairmanship of the Transportation Committee. And Rio Grande City Representative Ryan Guillen was named chairman of the Resolutions Calendar Committee.

Two other local Democrats were given vice chairmanships by the Republican House leader. McAllen Representative Bobby Guerra will serve as vice-chair of the Public Health Committee. Brownsville Representative Alex Dominguez was named vice-chair in two committees – Environmental Regulation and Local and Consent Calendars.

AAA Texas: Statewide Gas Price Now Higher Than A Year Ago

Previous article

GOP Eyes Path To Power By Making Peace With The Far Right

Next article

You may also like

More in LOCAL