Valley Counties Not Included In Governor’s Amended Border Disaster Declaration

File photo: Texas Gov. Greg Abbott, (AP Photo/Eric Gay)

Governor Greg Abbott has issued an amended border disaster declaration that no longer includes the four counties that make up the Rio Grande Valley.

Almost a month after declaring a disaster along the state’s southern border that named 34 counties, Abbott Monday revised the declaration that subtracts 6 counties, including Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, and Willacy.

Abbott says the updated declaration includes only those counties which have agreed to partner with the state on its border security strategies. The judges of each of the four Valley counties have so far declined, saying the influx of immigrants across the border has not led to an increase in crime that amounts to a disaster.

GM Recalls Old SUVs; Suspension Problem Can Affect Steering

Previous article

July Is Amnesty Month At Harlingen Municipal Court

Next article

You may also like

More in LOCAL