Villalobos Wins McAllen Mayor’s Race; Aguirre, Quintanilla, Cabeza De Vaca Take Commission Seats


McAllen voters elected city commissioner Javier Villalobos as the city’s next mayor in Saturday’s runoff election. Villalobos squeaked by fellow commissioner Veronica Vela Whitacre by 206 votes out of almost 93-hundred cast. Villalobos took 51.1% of the votes to Vela Whitacre’s 48.9. Villalobos, an attorney and one-time Hidalgo County Republican Party chairman, takes the mayor’s seat from Jim Darling who did not seek re-election after two terms.

Public Utility Board trustee Tony Aguirre was elected to replace Villalobos to represent District 1 on the city commission. Aguirre defeated attorney Lucia Thompson taking 58% of the vote in the runoff race.

District 3 Commissioner Omar Quintanilla was handily re-elected to a second term. Quintanilla beat runoff challenger Thelma Tamez getting 62% of the vote. And with 56% of the vote, Jose Cabeza de Vaca held off former McAllen school trustee Larry Esparza to win the District 6 seat vacated by Vela Whitacre.

The election results will be made official when the votes are canvassed June 14th.

Top Deputies Target Of ‘No Confidence’ Letter

Previous article

Former Sec. Of State: U.S. “Made A Mistake” Dismissing COVID Lab Origins Early

Next article

You may also like

More in LOCAL